looking down the long nose of this week
2004-02-02

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I am taking this week one second at a time.

I tried planning ahead for it this morning, all cubscout-like, and found that rising tide of panic trying to birth itself in my colon.

It's going to be a long one. This week is the launch of our "Education and Awareness" month, and guess who didn't even realize she was "in charge of the education initiative here at the agency" until she read it in one of our FAQs...

Whoups. I was wondering why I've been spending so much time at the front of the boardroom lately.

Cuts down on my doodling, it does.

And in other news this weekend I discovered that my legendary alcohol tolerance is absolutely, irretrievably GONE -- and that I don't miss it all that much.

Next time, though, I'm not going to get caught by a surprise HAMMERING after three glasses of wine.

Although, since it now takes a quarter as much wine to plaster my face to the sidewalk, I wonder if this justifies that I seem to be paying four times as much for a good bottle these days...

Well, except for the stunning six cases (plus one case of sherry) dry white riesling that we picked up for the wedding on a random drive-by into "Vineland" the weekend before last.

We just had to stop into that vinyard -- it was called "Thirty Bench" and it took me the entire ride up their beautiful rustic driveway to stop giggling at how I could tell people we'd gotten wine from a "diry bench!"...

Ahhh... I once had a sense of humour. I'd mourn its' passing but quite frankly, perhaps I just don't have all that much suffering in my life to require humourous sweetening.

Hrmm.

It's 10am and I have a hundred things to do today, and the meetings slew begins in fourteen minutes and ends at 4pm.

One of those meetings will take longer than usual since the ornery admin from hell quit at 7am (this morning) and there'll be some running around for agendas -- but there's a weight that broke open all eggshell like as soon as I read the announcement.

Another one of my meetings today is a goodbye lunch to my co-conspirator who found greener pastures and just couldn't wait to graze. He's a brilliant, knowledgeable, experienced security guy and without him I'm the most experienced person here.

Oh well.

There's a skating rink across the street and I've got spare socks and a ski jacket in my car and any one of these days there might actually be time to escape a lunchour session and bruise my shins on the ice.

These days have been filled with busywork, yes, but also with so much anticipation...

Of so many things.

And this weekend we actually made it out to see lots of people, so maybe we can get started on that list of dinner parties again...

______

1 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19