a dog in the park
2004-03-17

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I've been going for 4pm walks lately, starting at my ex-boss' desk, collecting orders for caf�, wandering down seventeen floors, past the little park out back, to the coffee shop, and back.

I go on these walks seemingly unthinking, in the midst of a tap-tapping fury one moment and then suddenly releasing the keyboard and donning my coat in one motion.

Today in the park out back two of the contact centre folks were watching a welsh border collie in bemusement.

Moments later we were wadding up fistfuls of oldish snow and Ren�e, the twelve year old collie, was having joyous fits trying to decide which one to catch first, which one to drop in favour of another.

We played for a few minutes and then I was back in the elevator with teas and coffees on a tray peppermint mingling with mocha-something.

I've earned that little breath of serenity just then.

I've earned it in bursts of inspiration and today I can honestly look back at the last ten hours, at each item and conversation and whisper to myself: "I did that one well."

I have a thousand other words of encouragement for my future selves, but they will have to wait until the next pause between bursts.

______

1 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19