Showers and egoes
2004-03-30

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Is it a tribute to my ability to find wonder in every aspect of humanity, or

to my low expectations of such

(the answer already is both, of course)

that I am so deeply touched that they've rescheduled today's office wedding shower on only the second mention that I would not be able to attend for longer than twenty-five minutes (including travel time) between meetings?

In any case, I am driven on a weekly basis to hug my Connie, as she puts a piece of her heart in everything that she does, from exquisite minute taking to trying to talk me into accepting a shower gift.

Today started hours early and yesterday ended quite late and yet somehow this brief pause between action items is filled with a bubbling joy that was totally unexpected in this morning's formation of my day-plan.

Please pardon my language; we've spent all morning discussing fiduciary indemnification.

I'm a far cry from the single-minded c-and-assembly coder I was not two (or three or is it five already?) years ago.

I am thrilled with the steepness of my learning curve, despite the fact that I am currently spewing forth concepts that I once disapproved of the very existence of, let alone focus upon.

I think I owe an apology to all the social science students in CEGEP.

Part of my ego however, wants me to phrase that apology in the sense that "I scorned your study of such things while you purported my inability to ever understand them, and here I am conquering them."

What I really should say though is -- it took me longer than you to realize the importance of all disciplines.

So whilst my ego still has a lot to learn about controlling urges -- my sense of enthusiasm is right up there with the geniuses of our generation.

(not me, just my enthusiasm, mind you)

______

1 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19