Self-righteous bullshit.
2004-11-22

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Because my friend Dan said it more succintly than I've managed in the last dozen tries:

Meat comes from meat cows, milk comes from milk cows, and leather comes from leather cows, calfs, lambs, and whathaveyous.

Here's the rub -- before anyone goes all PETA, how is condoning this slaughter by wearing leather any better than condoning the slaughter of forest habitats by wearing plastic instead?

Is it better to slaughter mindless farmed animals who have never know the joy of the hunt, or better to burn down the forests and the screaming cute and cuddly things (along with the not so cute things that no one cares about) with them? How many tupperware containers does it take to kill a tree filled with Robin's nests?

Here's a funny one -- it's not how many containers, but how many trees it takes to make one container or one roll of plastic wrap or or or...

Here's the funniest thought:

I was about to all too seriously and self-righteously point fingers at anti-fur saps and tell them to count the saran wrap rolls they've bought in their lives

but then I remembered my point.

My point is that it's all wrong. All of it. None of it is more wrong, and anyone, myself included, who tries to quantify or qualify otherwise is busying themselves with hippocrisy whilst they should be spending their efforts on living better, doing their best, and perhaps teaching a lesson or two to the corporations and marketing schemes that help us turn a blind eye in the name of a cheaper product.

I don't even know if they're the bad guys though. I don't think there's any bad guys left, besides us.

Just us.

This post was brought to you by the thoughts invoked by Stacy's post.

______

7 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19