tobacco or 1984 twenty years late?
2004-12-15

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


My friend the troll posted a link to this today, that I thought a couple of my montreal friends (cf in particular) might find interesting:

Smoking laws in Ontario.

The rest of his comments can be found here . (Trollman, if you want me to remove this last link I most certainly will), but I just wanted to repeat my own comment:


I hate everything about smoking right now. As a
for-sure-this-time ex-smoker, I thoroughly enjoy the way restaurants and bars have suddenly become so much easier to hang out in. In order to stay quit, I was honestly contemplating never going out again.

As a future mother, I hate what smoking in public will to do pregnant women, to my children, and their future friends. I hate the idea of walking out of a grocery store with a baby strapped to my chest and walking right into a cloud of baby-cancer.

As a rebellious disphit, I hate the fact that the government (which I work for and have learned surprising tolerance for) is trying to control what can be done in public. I HATE IT.

It's like tupperware -- it makes my life so much easier and more pleasant, but I hate what it will do to the planet long-term.

*sigh*

Stupid ideals. When will I learn to trade them in for a nice SUV?

So my question is...

For those of you NOT living in Ontario, what do YOU think of these laws? Could you live with them? Would you want to see them? Do they seem positive or big-brotherlike to you?

Is this, as the wondermonkey said -- removing a splinter from the toe of a broken leg, or is this a step in the right direction that might take away some of the immense power that tobacco companies wield over the continent of america and over other aspects of our daily lives?

Or am I just dreaming all this shit up?

______

7 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19