Executive lessons
2003-03-25

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I hadn't realized how much I would be learning in this morning's executive meeting, and all of it on zero caffeine or sugar content.

(Despite my emotional addiction to the rush of sugar or caffeine, Mr. Pyke was right about controlling it. I won't give it up entirely or the productivity associated with it, but cutting down to one cup a day was apparently not enough, because I wasn't paying enough attention to the effects of so dangerous a substance. Cutting down more, and more carefully really does seem to be in order.)

Back to the point, though, is that I learned a whole lot this morning, and I'm wondering how much of it is anything I'd have ever believed I would want to learn one day.

I knew I was going to be discovering a lot about patience, communication, about how to wait for someone to come to the conclusion you want them to finish with. That's an important skill.

I learned a lot about facilitation, about the posture, gestures, and even facial expressions of the facilitator. I hadn't realized how careful and meticulous a job it can be, especially with a group so volatile in the ego.

I learned a lot about what I'd come to learn, that I was on the right track, that the work we've done so far is solid and I know where my new direction should lead for the next eight weeks. I learned that well enough to make informed decisions.

I also learned a lot about these strange executive animals, how not all of them are as fiercly competent as I expected, how some of them think almost as slowly as I do. How some of them can't wait to hand off work to others, while others are thrilled to take on responsibility because they know they'll get it done.

I learned a lot about which executives should be my role models if I end up formally choosing that direction (which seems to be the path up to now), I learned about personal motivation, their discipline, the hour at which they show up to the office to get firmly tangled in the reins before the world comes banging at their doors.

I learned a lot about female executives, about their dress and their posture and their gimmicks for being heard above the stereotypical boardroom baritone. I learned that body weight is as big an issue as the girth of the pinstripe and the cut of the shoes, and so far I'm back to spinach lunches for the time being.

I learned that coffee is an important tool, whereas cocaine might not be.

I learned that I can do some things almost good enough already, and I identified others that I need to work on.

I learned that I have a lot of answers and can deliver them under a practiced intimidating stare.

With confidence.

I learned that I still have an awful lot to learn, but that it is entirely possible that I learn it.

I think learn is my very favourite word, most days.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19