Fortune, lessons
2003-03-07

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


One day I'll be half as clever as my boss and by then I'll know that I'm smarter than my father ever allowed me to believe.

My boss has discovered the secret to monstre happinness, has discovered how to recreate the ever-coveted adrenaline rush simply by handing me more work and more projects and titles and salary to go with it until I find myself wondering what it was liked to sit still.

In other words, I'm busier than I've ever been, and happier than I thought I could be. This isn't a grind, it's an amusement park filled with puzzles and challenges and new ways to do the impossible.

But holy crow is there ever a lot to do.

I shouldn't even be sitting here, I should be reviewing Catherine's report, I should be setting up a meeting with the techies, I should be starting my analysis of our...uh...I can't tell you about that one.

Instead I'm letting the smell of my coffee hit me first, giggling with Stuart about what I must have done to Keith last night for him to be so uncharacteristically late to work.

I didn't do nuffin'.

I just laughed, hard. And pushed him around a little, took abuse from his wife and marvelled at the calibre of some of the people that I've had the fortune to meet.

Last night on our way out of here, each of us heading home to pick up our loved ones and meet at the gym, we chatted about our attitudes towards work, responsibility, our experiences.

And I realized again, my sheer fortune. I realized again, that in all of the places I've ever been, I've been surrounded by inspiration, surrounded by people who can teach me just by being.

I learn a lot with every conversation I have here, and with every conversation I have at home.

I learn about intelligence, limits, I learn about the world around me, I learn about my abilities to tear down walls and build castles. I learn how to do.

I learn about fortune, I learn why I don't need to be so angry.

I learn, and it keeps getting handed to me wrapped in silk ribbons and sealed with genuine smiles.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19