My plate is as full as I wanted it.
2003-02-04

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Lately my brain has been all but taken up trying to catch up on things that everybody else knows.

Every once in a while though, some childish remnant inside me does silly things like "net send" a message to Lesley's machine rather than emailing her for a document.

At which point Lesley goes running to Gary to figure out how it was done.

At which point Gary comes running to me, all impressed by the ghosts I've put into the machines.

"Are you causing trouble already?" asks the other new guy.

I giggle and shrug off the haze of the headcold I've been carrying the last couple of days, and dive back into trying to make sense of the brainstorming session we had this morning.

I'll eventually get around to mentioning that in addition to removing permissions to the command prompt, users should not be allowed to access the "net" command either.

In the meantime, the weekend was two shades of contrary, beginning with a not-as-lazy as intended Friday, continuing with a Saturday that consisted of solid running around for two birthdays, haircuts, cakes, wine, lunch, dinner, and a hundred errands. Saturday night while the kids went to party I just kept going, got the car washed, finished laundry, took a bath and did some reading for work, caught up on a tenth of my personal email, and on and forth.

Sunday I was fully intending to wake up early enough to join the kids at the afterparty, but got caught up with singing lessons and pinning a pair of pants that need hemming and only joined them at noon.

For eight solid hours of sitting still and throwing words at each other, which, I fully intend, to be more prepared for next time 'round.

Either way, the company was delightful, exactly half my favourite (local) people all in one room, their very presence heartening.

Monday I was nearly ready for the day despite my headcold, but never made it to gaming night at Q's. My head was spinning too hard by the time I got home.

Today was half taken up by meetings, a new project which promises to be quite enjoyable (lots of theatrics involved), a bit of clarification on two other projects, and the return of the head-spinnies in late afternoon.

Which wasn't entirely a waste, because late in the evening I had a strange conversation with someone who has strange connections at a certain University, which may just take me one step closer to enrollment in part-time post-graduate studies.

Maybe.

Assuming a lot of choices that I have time to make between now and then.

In the meantime, the world is as open as I had always wished it to be, and the only thing left is the weight that my shoulders can carry, and how straight I carry them.

Which I am off to do, right now.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19