pierogi and grandmothers
2004-07-28

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Mmmm. I'm that brilliant sort of hazy tired. We had a delightful pierogi party last night, where we put nearly a dozen people to work stuffing all sorts of strange combinations of potato, sauerkraut, mushroom, white cheese or cheddar, blueberry, apples and cinammon.

I used an entire bag of flour for dough, and sent Dave out for more, they drank less than a dozen beer but laughed like they'd had a hundred.

My legs are filled with lead from rolling, rolling, rolling dough, my belly sore from the abdominal workout that is giggling until the tears come.

My living room was littered with clever, loving people -- and I coerced my way into getting kisses for every stretch of dough I'd cut.

I may not feel very ethnic very often (although I've caught myself trying to), somewhat cultured in my purposeful selective way but not so ethnic as to have a clever background or bonus to my identity. My special bits are all things I chose intentionally to be, from comic books or human observation and travel, but some days I realize that my childhood did teach me an awful lot besides a love for math and reading.

Making pierogi on Saturday afternoons with my grandmother has suddenly become a brilliant part of my childhood, teaching me to do something that I can share with the group. Granted, looking up a recipe isn't hard either -- but somehow last night when someone turned to me and asked "how did you learn to do this stuff?" I suddenly felt... Special, and not in the olympic way for once.

In the light of this morning, I suddenly have something I can't wait to teach my children. It may not be supremely healthy food -- but I've suddenly realized how good it is for you anyway.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19