This is how I turn into a diamond.
2003-06-05

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


There has been a lot in this week.

My shiny new title and new pile of responsabilities is working out to almost two jobs for the time being, and adding that to trying to prepare for being away all next week, and the MASSIVE projects that will be in their home stretches when I get back...

...I've been working very hard. Good hard. Never stopping moving, brain flitting until the hummingbirds look suspended in slow motion.

Bit of honest work feels good sometimes, in this land of overinflated paychecks.

Watching "28 days later" I realized just how useless this corporate beast, I would be were the world to ever become real again -- and days when I push this hard feel, almost, honest.

I spoke to my father on Tuesday. It's been a few months. There was money on his mind so he had something to say and in there somewhere he blurted: "I'm going away for three weeks to a sanatorium in Poland."

My father has never willingly travelled in his life, and in two weeks he is embarking on an adventure. A real one, where he will hunt the hillsides for his birthmother's grave.

In that time, my mother is coming to visit us. Our house. Where we live, together. My urges to hire a cleaning lady have slowly ebbed, and upon my boss and mentor's urgings am starting to steel myself for an honest (albeit hectic) weekend with her.

We might discuss certain things about Dave and I that I still have difficulty thinking about aloud. That I have great difficulty discussing with anyone.

In the meantime I have been playing with my own stress, honing my efficieny to ride that shrieking voltage line, and the five minutes that I stole (right from a meeting but don't tell Dave ;) to run outside and kiss him as he drove by, and the fifteen seconds that I am stealing for here -- have been planned to the microsecond.

And my time is up.

For today.

And next week, I will be hiding away in a forest for a week, at Wiccanfest with four of my favourite people in the universe.

No cellphone.

No machines.

Books. Fire. Sarongs and hair without a single drop of chemistry. Where makeup can get you eaten, not promoted.

Water. Air that doesn't smell of ventilation.

Suddenly, bolstered by the impromptu drive-by kiss, and the thrill of next week -- that shrieking electricity is my shield, not my nemesis.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19