SNAFUS and notoriety
2003-05-13

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


As per a certain friend's request (I don't know if he'd appreciate if I list his d-land account here), here are the overwhelming results of that quiz I posted earlier.

First of all, an awful lot of people were too shy to fill it out in a public forum, as Dave had suggested. He was right. As of this morning, I had a good fifty heartwarming, and heart-rending, responses by e-mail.

As to the tally of questions, I'm not sure I can make it all the way through them without breaking into tears, but here are the most noticeable "votes":

  • I am "like no one anyone has met before", which leads me to believe that some people really need to get out more. But I don't mean that at all. In fact, that's the one right about where I started leaking booger.

  • People seem to think that I'm interesting, going as far as to use the word fascinating. This one is really terrifying to me, because interesting I can write off as "tells colourful stories", but fascinating? ME?!? I'm one step short from wearing floral underwear, where does THAT come from?!

  • People seem to like reading my liverjournal and diaries because I'm funny. I found that odd considering I don't often post pictures. ;)

  • The most common consensus amongst respondents to the survey was: "Monstre will be FAMOUS".

I really don't understand that last one. Why? Why me? What am I possibly doing worth notoriety, let alone fame?

Or is everyone just forseeing a clocktower incident, and the fascinating stuff is really all about watching the signs of my ultimate breakdown fall into place...

On a more serious note, those surveys served their purpose. They gave me something to go back and read every time things get tarnished enough for me to stop being able to see the lights. ALl of them.

And now I have a livejournal-full and mailbox full of bright lights.

Loving faces.

Awe-inspiring souls.

Oh, and people dumb enough to think I'm real smrt. I mean smat. I mean sart...

*sheepish grin*

I'm having trouble accepting compliments again today, but it's been a long day. A long, difficult, stressful, but very productive day.

Today I stared down the execs, and won.

Today I stared down execs who have silently been opposing me recently, and won their respect.

Today I stopped wandering into the wrong office, because I finally got my bearings on my own door/opening.

Today I made my assistant cry by saying nice things for her birthday, and I prepared myself for tomorrows briefing of, get this, my new assistant.

That makes two. I officially have as many secretaries as my mom. That frightens me.

Today I discovered that I fucked up royally last Wednesday, that I hadn't kept good enough track of one of my monkeys, and that she hadn't been doing a task I'd assigned to her since Wednesday. Tonight I am investigating to see whether or not any damage was done.

Tomorrow I will re-brief some of my monkeys, but right now I am really rotted inside with this SNAFU, which is entirely my fault for not keeping track.

Today I told Dave that I love him.

Today I spoke to a friend in Montreal about something close to her heart, and she thanked me for understanding.

Today I made tentative plans to descend upon New Orleans in the Fall, en freakish masse.

Today I lived a thousand lives, and am too tired to go climbing, so I am taking my beloved out to dinner instead.

As soon as I'm finished this analysis...

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19