Snowshoes and heartbeats
2004-02-15

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Today I redefined the word "exhilarating" for myself, the dictionary explanation having grown dim and unassuming.

Back home, now, at my desk, my vision is superseded by the image of two pair of snowshoes leaning elegantly up from the bank of snow where we left them.

A few metres further, lie the precarious tracks of my determined last circuit of the three-foot deep snow by the woodpile, biting holes in the landscape of Apsley.

In my heart, I can still feel the smooth-ening pounding as the cadence finally felt right, and my pace quickened to one that I will forever be imminently proud of.

My first time on snowshoes.

And I, fat, broken, tired, I -- loped past those branches.

______

1 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19