Spring in my swing
2003-09-05

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I fell out of bed this morning and hit the ground running.

I'm learning to not be an immense fan of that feeling anymore, but yesterday was a good handful of milestones of the corporate kind and it should be a day or two before I find myself in a boardroom spouting opinions at seven thirty in the morning.

Why in hell, out of a roomful of MBAs, are they letting the computer geek call the shots on the content of the five year business plan???

You know, the one wherein we justify the money the gov't gives us for the next five years?

It feels like I'm counting megabytes, not millions of dollars. I'm watching my disk space go from 4MB to 9MB and wondering where the other 11MB are going to come from because we need the space.

It would be intensely surreal to find those numbers passing under my fingers if it wasn't all too clear how crucial or disastrous or critical or *insert buzzword here* they are.

I fell out of bed this morning and was watering ze plants for the weekend away before my eyes were open, somehow my 'case got packed last night for Halifax in between working late, drive-by hugs for Kristen, veggie-sauce-from-the-garden-with-wine dinner, cuddles and snarfles and a little smooching, and a handful of minutes of gorgeous conversation.

*pause for another two hours of meetings*

I take that back. The desperate crunch of meeting-decision-meeting will never be over, but getting a ride to work from my beloved this morning, getting to see him in the morning for once, hearing his voice and watching his face, and even the tiny break in stress from navigating traffic...

I'm kicking ass today, and tonight we're boarding a plane for Halifax, a new city to conquer. In the methodical slowing of my lifestyle, I still manage to make it onto airplanes and away.

And I get to hug a beautiful spirit upon arrival, and I get to sit beside a beautiful spirit on the way there and for the rest of my life, and there's a thousand things need planning and budgeting at work and at home for the next few months and next few years -- and it's all okay.

Because I got a ride to work today and had a glass of spicy pinot noir with my love last night and not even the airline's machinations and reschedulings can dampen the spring in my swing.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19