Social science strikes again
2003-09-11

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


You know, for someone who previously spent all of her time avoiding anything and everything to do with politics at all, convinced that it was nothing but bullshit no matter what anyone ever said and that only individuals every mattered in anything...

...it is heavily ironic that I have been ordered to read the platforms of three parties in particular in order to help prepare our agency for possible transition.

So far I've learned that it really IS all about language, just like those pedantic arguments way back when semantics made or broke the debate about which college association was the biggest ass.

You say consult, provide, plan, he sayd consult, provide, plan, and the images in both minds are so drastically different that not a single colour matches.

And then you say business, client, customer, projection, and HE says enabler, co-vivant, benefactor, "better future" and you both mean precisely the same three pages of documentation, but with every word changed.

And I looked around this morning as the ex-deputy-minister of just about every crown organization since before I was born was telling us to be prepared for these things

and I realized that not everyone lived in those college cafes arguing definitions of words.

And so now, as the stubborn science student surrounded by social scientists, I'm finally understanding

why it means anything at all, let alone this much.

Thank you for those college cafe conversations.

I still think this is a pile of irrational, arbitrary bullshit -- but you gave me a skill that will allow me to work with this bullshit and make rational differences.

I always knew that it had to be science and social and art and poetry all together, it just took me a really long time to learn to listen.

______

2 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19