way ahead of this game
2003-12-17

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Helen, sweetheart of the internet used to be my hero once upon a time when Leon was the devil and cf was my better-dressed brother at arms.

(He's still better dressed and my brother, but neither of us are back to back in hell anymore.)

Lately I've been reading Helen again, catching up and quietly mourning the passing of my stardom, leaving behind the pink-haired kid-genius days of dot com and my early twenties.

Actually, the last little while I haven't even been mourning anymore, simply catching up on the comic and laughing here and there, reminiscing but slowly letting go.

And then today's comic appears and I realize.

Now it's Helen catching up to me.

We're the same age with the same career history and blonde bitch ego

only three years ago she was what I aspired to be

And now... Despite how hard I've been berating myself for slowing down, for not conquering the world with every breath -- I just realized.

I'm still way ahead of the game.

And the terror that's been lurking about taking a year off of the game and losing my headway???

That's abating too.

No matter what, I'll still be way the hell ahead of the game.

Because I already won it, a long time ago.

______

2 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19