April Fool's thrills.
2004-04-01

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The light of my life teaches me something new nearly every day, it's staggering.

Today he taught me a whole new level of appreciation of April Fool's day. (I already posted about it once, but I just can't get over how the sheer glee in his voice stretched over a telephone wire has just about put me into a dizzying state of afterglow)

__

Yesterday just as I was about to cry in work-politicking-related frustration, Dave handed me the mail which contained the most beautiful gift in the universe. A card from one of the dearest people in my life just... celebrating our friendship. Tears of joy and overwhelming emotion are way better than chocolate.

__

Today was the post-poned work wedding shower which involved three of the biggest dimsum tables all shoved together, a gargantuan pot of purple calla lilies, a box of enough chocolate to build me a family (rather than the one they are all very enthused about us planning), and a gift certificate to our favourite local aesthetics shop. Despite the long talk we had last week about Not Buying Me Stuff our army/bevvy of girls were unstoppable.

Tonight they're having Another Wedding Shower For Girls Only (there were two boys at the dimsum) consisting of raspberry martinis (apparently known as tartinis), takeout sushi and high-pitched giggling.

I know I'm a terrible person, but I really don't want to go. I'm flattered, happy, and feeling much better about the state of humanity than yesterday's political squabbles, but also really tired.

This week I've been working at a whole new level (no surprise there, though, as it's my goal in life to improve at precisely this rate), went rock-climbing for the first time in a while, we finished the work on the dining room -- the light sconces look BEAUTIFUL and the room is once again free of debris and drywall shards, and the swords and shiny bits are back up against a fresh coat of paint, and I started my singing lessons again after a few months maternity leave hiatus -- only to find that I hadn't lost nearly as much as I thought I had (besides one note at the top of my range).

Wedding plans progress apace and the world continues to be curiously amazed that our planning stages haven't involved any fighting whatsoever. My mother opined in her usual way that this is because "we're not doing it right" -- inadvertently driving home the point that "right" and "wrong" to her are truly off-kilter.

And I could go on rambling. It shows that I'm taking a break from a massive deadline, dontit?

I'm off. I just wanted to again posterize -- between the calla lillies and the power of his world-changing giggle, the great treasures that have turned life from a survival game into a glorious adventure.

______

1 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19