this is my magic ritual
2003-05-15

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


An excercise in focusing on the un-mundane

Every morning I have a secret routine, performed alone, filled with the commonest things, but enacted just so, each becomes a shimmering brick in my resilience.

Every morning I step outside into the back yard, wander up the thick grass, to peer at the new growth near the tree, near the rosebush. Every morning I notice tiny changes, the new fiddleheads popping in damp corner, some of them already unfurling. The new leaves on the honeyscuckle. George's catprints in the vegetable patch.

This morning I caught the eye of a squirrel sitting in our eavestrough, and it chittered at length about matters of utmost importance before skittering off over the roof.

This morning Dave emailed me to ask me if I was alright at work, and the sincerity of his concern lifted me above the clouds that my boss was coalescing in the hallways.

This afternoon I wandered Yonge street, attempting to block out the concrete and the stains, and my altered field of vision stumbled upon a handful of greenery peeking from a sidestreet. Looking closer, I noticed so many of the same leaf patterns as some of the wild growth in our own back yard -- and I felt less intimidated by it.

This afternoon I ran around on errands, saving the world and documenting it for posterity, but I also --

climbed up on the radiator and threw paper airplanes at the girls.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19