UPS zombie
2004-07-14

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I have an overwhelming urge to take a screwdriver and start bashing things with it until the plastic splinters.

The particular things that I have in mind are the UPS's that we've got protectin' our darling machines in the homestead -- and they do excellent jobs, too, it's just that one of the primary functions of a UPS, the loud, piercing alarm that notifies sysadmins and security guards from floors away -- is not so useful in our cozy little house.

In fact, in place of usefulness, they're rather NERVE-WRACKING everytime we have a power failure. I mean, if we're in the house, chances are we KNOW that there's been a power failure, and if we're conscious we know that we can either go turn off our PCs now and keep some juice in the UPS batteries to charge cell phones and such in an emergency, or we can just let the UPS power down the machine in 45 minutes.

Consequently, when the storm (which I am disappointed I didn't even hear) knocked out our power for two hours at five this morning, we REALLY DIDN'T NEED for BOTH UPS's to go off, in syncopation, louder than any sound should ever be at that hour.

Really didn't. Really. Especially since the alarm doesn't stop. Ever. Until the 11hr battery stores run out...

So tonight, I think I'm taking that screwdriver to the cool little plastic cases on those vile-but-useful things, and yanking the cables to the speakers.

I sho' hope that doesn't void any warrantee.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19