gentle civil servants
2002-09-12

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Parking permit adventures.

The bubbling indian lady at the city hall counter wanted to know where I'd gotten my t-shirt, the one I'd inadvertently worn, with the creative sexual positions on it.

"I don't know where to get it, it was a gift" and so she wanted to know where she could get other cool t-shirts.

I wrote down a url for her and she asked me to show her how to use that web thingie.

One minute I'm fidgeting in line for a parking permit, and the next moment I'm hangin' out behind the counters at city hall, giggling with a charming lady from Bangalor who has two daughters my age who are just going to LOVE the "open your mind, not your mouth" t-shirts that she ordered for them.

What a cool mom. What a cool civil servant.

What a cool hot dog vendor standing outside city hall.

What a cool grumpy old man at the sewing shop where I bought little red beads for the plant-hangings that I've been macram�-ing during television evenings.

What a delightful lady at the nature store where I bought coriander seeds (cilantro, chinese parsley, whatever) who promised to teach me polish if I stopped by more often.

What a delightful neighbourhood, despite the man who jumped out at me while I was out too late alone on rollerblades last night

despite the ululating stress that kept me from sleep until well into this morning.

I have a thousand awkward fears from having done so many things in my signature backwards way

but when they get too hard for even a monstre to stay cheerful and stoic

rolling over on the verge of some undefined chasm at one in the morning, there were gentle hands and a gentler voice to talk me down from the pointed height I had stranded myself upon.

And now those "gentle" hands are dragging me off to the caf�, then to go injure myself somewhere up a rock wall.

;)

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19