Ikari vs Akagi
2002-09-10

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I'm funny that way, when it comes to names

I'll only remember you if we've had intercourse.

Robert Heinlein I will always remember, Spider Robinson, for the way they stroked my heart and mind, Larry Niven for the way he set fire to my self-righteousness so many years ago on Compuserve.

Name drop this week's latest hot star? I really am sorry but I can't, I just won't remember.

But the girl in the bathroom at the club who laughed when I apologized for not being able to tell her where to buy my double-stitch fishnets because I'd bought them in a corner store on a different continent, her smile is etched into my brain forever.

Fleeting conversations across a wire move me more than spangles on a screen.

Actors names I can never get the hang of, directors, producers even less so.

Character names, though? I'm the only one who can keep Dr. Ikari and Dr. Akagi straight.

(speaking of Evangelion, whilst looking up Angel FAQs to answer a few of the questions brought up tonight, I found out that I scored my favourite character in the Neon Genesis Character Test. Mitsuko. Followed closely by Kaworu Nagisa, who I'm looking forward to learning more about. :)

But when Yet Another New Face this evening mentioned Gary Gygax...

My still-adolescent-in-places heart pittered just a little before pattering right into a delightful reminiscence of the most juvenile monsters and characters we've ever created...

How many hours did we spend on a couch tonight, watching classic anim� that I've already seen far too many times?

Two nights in a row, on my ass, on a couch (well, on a couch, on a chair, along the back of the couch, leaning up against a wall, but... as close to still and in one place as possible), watching DVDs...

And not one jarring moment of self-flagellation for wasting precious moments of my life in drooling self-inflicted catatonia.

Not for a moment did I feel that I was wasting time.

Maybe I'm becoming stagnant. Maybe I've peaked my productive years.

Maybe.

Or maybe, just maybe, the latest Adam Sandler flick just isn't for me.

Oh, there's a name I remember as well. We've had a different sort of intercourse. The kind I care to remember long enough so that next time I'm ina video store

I won't do something I might regret, and reach for the latest equivalent of "There's Something About Mary".

To each their own, and for me, it's got shiny blinking things and chrome lining.

And this afternoon, at my new bank, my new conseiller instructed me on how to say thank you in Croatian, in exchange for how to say it in polish (since he's the only one of his coworkers who doesn't speak it).

This evening while being introduced,

"Monstre meet Hound from Ottawa, Hound, meet monstre... We, uh, we don't know where she's from."

Part of me very much enjoyed that moment. Another part just wondered.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19