Fortune.
2002-12-30

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Well, a concentrated effort and my new year's dress is mostly finished, hemmed, edged, a fat satin ribbon for the neckline and the back so backless that I'm wondering if I should just forego underwear. My ink will definitely show in all its glory.

It's far from perfect, but it's mashy and fleecy and ribbony and good enough for my first try at a dress and definitely wearable. The largest drawbacks for it are the size of my belly distorting attempts at graceful lines.

Nothing catastrophic.

It's three o'clock and I'm on my way into the shower, my paperwork got done this morning and this afternoon was quiet and focused while Dave bundled Cristal out the door and off to Ikea to pick up shelves and a few things for her new room.

Waiting for them to return I had a sudden burst of gratefulness, realizing what Dave had done, braving the language barrier in a great generous gesture and not only giving me time to wrestle my clumsy hands around the sewing machine, but also allowing me to avoid the great personal terror that is Ikea. The size, the crowds, the background noise, the few times I have braved their serpentine aisles I have always emerged shaken.

THank you, Mr. Pyke. I forgot to thank you on your way out. I hadn't realized just how huge a favour you were doing me, nor what an effort it was on your part.

This afternoon will comprise grocery shopping, great heaps of vegetables for tonight's impromptu currification of Kirsten and Kris, and enough food to feed three people for a few days -- the latter part has me worried somewhat, but I know Cristal, and she's more than adept at fending for herself. I just want to do it all for her, make her first days here worry free.

As for New Year's, our plans to rave away into a party even bigger than the last few might have a few kinks in, but I'll worry about that tomorrow. Dinner plans are suddenly up in the air again, the rave not something Cristal necessarily considers her "thing".

We'll worry about that, tomorrow.

Today, we're too busy feeling so incredibly fortunate to be surrounded by such beautiful spirits.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19