a morning out of the ordinary
2001-12-14

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Caught on the gaze of the conducteur de m�tro this morning, the strangest giggle as he opened the door of his little booth to reach back and open the door for me.

Just fifteen seconds of eye contact and sincere smile, the utter lack of expectations and the whole day has shone with a particular gleam.

Unexpected kindnesses are rampant.

One project down but I ain't handing it in until the next one is allll, well, started at least. No way am I letting on that there's space in my gut for more stress and more clenching.

Friendships around me are tightening, colleagues opening up, friends saying the smallest word that indicates the trust we've so happily been able to put in each other.

My head is reeling from the constant rush of this week, and perhaps just a little from the port and wine and sherry last night (rounded off by a surprisingly tasty lentil dahl and weirdo Gila salad with fruitinit) and perhaps just a little more from the realization

that hey my sister's a fairly spectacular person.

And holy shit can she hold her drink.

(just like I did at that age, j'imagine)

For now I'm being forced out of the office early even for normal people, and about three hours early for a monstre

because apparement it is time that I commence mon weekend.

Et alors �a commence...

Passez un bon WE, les copains.

Si tout ce passe bien the next two weeks with my sis will be magic incarnate, and will disappear ever smoothly into his visit.

Maybe we'll even have time to catch a train for Brussels and play roller-t-bal with Jean-Mi, or one of the other sports we've been imagining r�cemment.

Either way now that the new work Visa laws have made my choice of accepting the Kyriba offer to stay on after my contract happily moot, I can go to lunch with the new hotshot at my mother company with clear expectations, and discuss what I'd really like to be doing next.

Crap.

That gives me until Wednesday to figure it oot.

Alright les poteaus, now I'm really outta here.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19