linux and the great too-late work-night mindfreeze
2001-12-26

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


LinuxBSdLinuxBSDLinuxBSDLinux*ix*ix*ix*ix*ix*ix*ix*ix*ix*ix*ix

Perfectly raucous syllables and yet they generate such a soothing symphony, expounding ever outwards exponentially with every utterance.

A symphony of excitement, events tumbling in fugues, odd how in these careful months I'd nearly overlooked it entirely, the joy and heights and better-than-coffee rush...

And now the promise is back.

My baby on his way out here not only with spunk and kisses, but laptopy goodness, specifically a laptopy goodness that will run Debian ever more happily than the W2K sitting on it now.

A not-so-quick phone call to France Telecom, and goodbye internet-free appartment, I think I've learned how to fit vitamin-laden dinners in with books and time and breathing.

The melancholic moments of boredom this weekend, however, indicated that mayhap... I need something more.

Maybe three months was enough to learn about a certain part of myself, and the race is ready to begin on a different course.

AllzIknow, is I haven't been learning enough. I haven't been touching enough, writing enough, filling my brain enough. The rush has been sorely missed, in too many hours of sleeping in, too many times re-reading a Patrick Marber story about two fourteen year olds losing their virginity underneath a wall of punk rock posters.

My life has nearly derailed into the mundane, where I seem to be marching the same paces as my peers.

Pace is speed is pace and no longer frightens me so much to feel the dire need to be quicker faster better, but what about the rythm?!

I've been wondering when my rythm suddenly became... so trivial.

...Half an hour later, France Telecom is calling me back for more Linux advice. Their ppptp is apparently so much like Sympatico's pppoe that the ultra-excited tech guy on the other end was understanding my garbled jargon.

I think I may even get a handful of euros credited to my account because my solution for their USB drivers works, too.

(Such things are not mundane.)

*ix, *ix, such wonderfully crashing syllables, pronounced last friday and suddenly a certain coworker became slightly closer to a partner in crime.

Pronouncing them a second time yesterday in the quiet afternoon and suddenly these winter months are so much less grey and terrifying, and pronounced three times...

...and my new internet provider is providing me with the ultimate compliment. Un tel respet de mes conaissances...

Mmmmm, linux.

Linux, and the red, red sweater I bought with my baby sister at St-Lazaare on Saturday, my hair haphazardly gathered up on my head since her undisclosed accident with my hairdryer that has left it permanently smoking.

I've been getting strange looks, but strange has so often been better than mundane.

Quick shopping tonight to replace the smoking hair thingie, and an armful of decorative pillows for my mom like you can't get in America (too much quality interferes with quantity dontcha know) before the pit stop chez Mapie

to hug her good luck

On her vacation with the new boyfriend.

She'll be back just in time to drag my baby out rollerblading.

I'm tired, so late already and so many things today, and I'm trying so hard to maintain the sheer excitement of more adventures in Linux.

To not lose myself to dreams, and yet... To not lose my dreams either. (re: Kippling and his poetry... And my still too-faint grasp on maturity.)

Tomorrow, I might strive for clarity, a cleaner pen and words with power behind them.

Today, I am stealing moments for thinking.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19