la mer efface
2002-05-16

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Les Feuilles Mortes

--Jacques Pr�vert

Tu vois, je n'ai pas oubli�
La chanson que tu me chantais.

C'est une chanson --
Qui nous ressemble
Toi tu m'aimais --
Et je t'aimais

Et nous vivions --
Tous deux ensemble,
Toi qui m'aimais,
Moi qui t'aimais

Mais la vie s�pare ce qui s'aiment
Tout doucement
Sans FAIRE de bruit

Et la mer efface sur le sable
Les pas des amants d�sunis.

The song I learned today was one we'd sang at the Lapin Agile.

I sing it just a touch less timidly now, the crescendo at sans FAIRE de bruit something that comes tumbling from my abdomen, exploding through my chest, as though somehow it wasn't me singing, but someone real, someone human, someone with a voice that knows how to do such things.

Maja is a wonderful teacher, her bizarre breathing exercises and walking-around-in-circles techniques, how to purse my lips and shake my shoulders so that I don't tense up my neck and let the high notes become too shrill.

After the lesson we photocopied the notes so that I can attempt to practice, but without an instrument to prompt me, it's so hard for me to read the notes, I know what they should be but I can't hear them in my head yet.

Steven? Wanna practice with me on your clarinet? ;)

I was late to meet Alexe but that's okay, she was later.

We had the longest lunch at the Choppe de la Mairie with our bottle of wine and talked of too many things. She's changed so much the last two years, become so aware of herself, so strong... It was beautiful to sit with her.

She knows what she wants now, her master's degree and finally a career that isn't being the babe secretary for HR bitches.

We wandered Montmartres, and true to form taught me a new girl thing, first it was how not to cut my hair by putting it into a ponytail and chopping the end off, but rather go to a salon where they actually try to give your hair a shape...

That was three years ago, it hardly seems so long though.

(I haven't done half the things I'd meant to do.)

Today it was manicures.

My hands look strange, but my mom will be impressed (if I don't chip them by then) and it might just put her in a better mood if her daughter shows up looking like a girl.

That's right, I'm wearing a skirt on an airplane again...

C'est une chanson...

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19