I miss last summer
2000-06-10

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Were I prone to horoscopes of any kind - today's would have been one most closely resembling those chipper-dapper fortune cookies with nothing but sunshine and "you can do no worng" innem.

Day two of the meetingsfromhell, but somehow I actually ended up learning a lot, inputting some, and walking away with this germinating spawn of an idea that, well, it's going to be me and a couple of textbooks this weekend.

It's wrong, I know, I know, but...

It's not that wrong, really.

I'm changing offices, moving in with Peter so we can quake all day. I'm a little nervous at sitting beside one of the most brilliant people I've ever met, but from the moment I wandered in to check out my new digs - the conversation wandered from the grappa bottle in the cabinet, to how to turn it into a bong, to mushrooms and first experiences on acid, so really...

Hail Eris, all hail...

Ahhh, sweet discordia. ;)

They let us out early today. Well, sorta. They hired moving people to move all the stuff in the offices around. I just stuck orange tags onnem. (257-A, the one with the awesome window)

Everyone left at noon. Well, except us. But we did get out at three, and who should I run into once I get downtown, but...

Tom and Joe, the charming americanos (from Philly) who'd flown up to see us. They had some time to kill before their flight back, so we escaped the glorious sun and ducked into the shadows of the Old Dublin for beer.

Turns out Joe's in a jazz band (look for him on mp3.com - Joe Murray, the band's something and Murray), used to be into hardcore punk.

Eeeeenteresting.

Apparently he designed Bad Religion's latest album cover. For fun.

Waaaaaay cool.

They grilled me some more on work stuff, then we kicked back and chatted until they had to run for their flight.

I went shopping.

I picked up my comic books and ogled the ladies.

I ran into Betsy, who was meeting that stunnnnnnning young friend of hers - Greg.

You can't fit more delicious into one tightly-packed little form.

And he works with RPGs for a living.

Yikes.

Betsy did her best to pull me into something complicated (and sweaty enough) to remind me of last summer, but I had beerness with the boyzzzzz up next on the list of today's conquests.

I managed it to O'Donnel's on time and the turnout was more than healthy.

It reminded me of last summer, when worlds would meet for beer on Friday nights.

I'm trying to remember all the names, but there are 54 steps up to my appartment and I hadn't run out of names yet.

I was almost missing the "Nexus" days, but the energy has drained from my extremities and I'm glad it's a rarer occurence ces derniers temps.

Next time I need a hug and you're not there, though - I'll think back to tonight.

Even anti-dyke boy was approaching charming. Phew. ALl the EQ boys made it out, a healthy spattering of girls, even, and get this, are you ready?

cf FLOGGED me with his new rubbery flogger thingamabobber.

I think I've successfully rambled well into a daze, here. The only thing on my mind is the disturbing question as to why I'm not across the street with Betsy and Greg *right* *now*.

I dunno, I really don't. Enough saliva was semi-discreetly swapped tonight to have me panting and ready to be led around on the makeshift leash I was wearing. (I stole anti-dyke-guy's tie)

We danced. Stupidly and happily.

We hugged. And hugged. And hugged some more.

I laughed and my sides still ache, and now I am going to curl up in bed

alone.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19