bitch bitch bitch
2001-07-11

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


So now Cognicase is all gung-ho about sending me to Europe; Paris or Brussels.

I picked up a book by the same publishing house as my (thanks to Steven) "Advanced Programming in the Unix Environment" at Camelot, and made the mistake of opening it in the parking lot. A $3 surcharge later, I had to force myself to put it down...

Design patterns are so cool.

I'm getting tired of interviews. Very, very, tired.

Justify yourself.

Answer the same question a millionth time.

What's a static object.

Bite me.

Fuck off.

On the verge of taking the startup job and telling everyone to fuck off and be quicker about their hiring process.

Belgium, though. Paris.

Tomorrow's interview is with Gameloft. They need a linux security geek.

The waterloo company is calling every half hour, trying to set up a day when I can drive out there and write a bloody exam.

I'm feeling bitchy today. Tired of professional looking blouses, tired of pinstripes, HR people, technical leaders with swelling brainpans.

Tired of small talk, being watched in the waiting room. Tired of being asked "so have you made a decision yet".

I'm in the home stretch, so the pressure is building, but I just want to do some honest work please...

Soon.

Breakfast, then a little playtime, some reading tonight and an interview tomorrow. All neatly scheduled, filling the columns of my faux-leather attache case.

The concert in the park last night is still with me, though, hugging Steven, talking to people that I lost touch with for a bunch of reasons, some excuses, some painful.

Camping this weekend with the guys. I'll be fresh when I get back. I just have to survive the next couple of days...

I've already started a design for the startup guys. Just bare-bones-this-is-the-most-efficient-implementation kinda design. Modularized it. Accounted for installation, and stupid users. Made notes on which cryptlib libraries should be used where, and how smartcard integration would work. I'm on the verge of setting up a timeline.

Tsk, when you offer me sole creative control of your cryptographic module, you know I won't be sleeping even if the problem isn't mine to solve yet.

If I finish it and decide to ditch them, at least I'll be leaving them with something. Hey, they called me a code warrior and I didn't even have to pay them for the compliment.

The mantra for today is: "stop thinking about it stop thinking about it".

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19