the bitter taste
2001-09-27

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


It's been an emotional day.

I guess that's traditional.

On Monday, a friend of mine told me about his attempt at overdosing this weekend.

He was trying to make a joke.

I asked him if he felt the same despair I did when he eventually woke up.

That broke him.

He told me everything.

Asked for help.

On tuesday, I couldn't have been more thrilled about anything (even the appartment) than the fact that he had been serious about wanting help.

He called the therapist I recommended, I've never met her but she's told things to friends of mine that were better advice than I've ever been able to give.

He did a few other things I had asked him to do.

Today, I found out he kept those promises. He has an appointment with her next week, he's done those other things.

And then in the midst of it he said

"I don't know if I'll make it"

And I gave him my phone number and told him to call at any hour even if it pisses off my roommates and gets me evicted.

I hope he keeps that promise too.

I think of him as a friend because I think he's a phenomenal person.

But we don't know each other that well. He doesn't confide in anyone.

This is the second time he's confided in me and it's breaking my heart just to see his burden.

And it's a heavy one I'm trying to help him lift.

I know I'll be losing sleep over this, but.

I'm posting the pain of it here so that I don't care the pain of it outside. Because I'm determined to see this through.

ANd on that note, here's today's little bit of french entertainment:

Quelle est la diff�rence entre un thermom�tre buccal et un thermom�tre

rectal?

- Le go�t

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19