blarg
2002-08-02

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


In good news, I'm definitely going to have time to get my appartment inspection done and take care of all the little things for a clean getaway.

In slightly less scintillating news, Johanne the HR-lady from hell who warned me that I have to be ready to leave SOON because flights are hard to get during prime tourist season, booked me a ticket for the 26th.

That's an entire month. My fridge is already empty and spotless. All the most difficult things are taken care of.

I guess I'm going grocery shopping today.

Cristal is thrilled that we get the extra time together before she tries to follow me out there.

She needs the help getting a visa.

She called me in tears, last night, the way Tia used to (and it brought back such memories), the way Seb did for most of this winter, the way so many people have, at once filling me with worry and at the same time filling me with the unconditional affection that arises when someone I love is in need.

She quit her job last night, too many things going wrong, too much politicking, too much of everything, and called me up crying that she didn't want it to end this way, but at least she's free to focus on leaving.

She cried into the phone and I realized just how weak my french really is, when I need it to be most expressive, but her sobbing eventually turned to gulping and then just haggard breathing.

She wanted to go out drinking, my body is still as exhausted as last night.

I sent her out with Seb, and left messages here and there to see how she was doing.

I finally reached her towards one in the morning, she was heading home in the company of Daniel and Guillaume.

I could already see Guillaume's thought bubble as to how to get himself invited up (his favourite trick is inisisting on needing to use the bathroom) but she wasn't that drunk, and she isn't that stupid.

I hope.

Yesterday afternoon, I trundled Maja off to meet her campers at the train station, and on the way there she offered me a job.

Two weeks at the beach in Bretagne, learning music with two dozen germans.

"But I neither speak german, nor know anything about music, how could I be a counsellor???"

[unintelligible german garble]

"Did you just ask me to lick your ass???"

"See! You do speak german!"

It would definitely have been quite the adventure, but despite the current funk I'm in, I really do have things to do.

Like spend time with Cristal. Call all the people I still haven't called. Prepare a relative ton of clothes for the charity clothing drive on Wednesday.

Return a bunch of CDs and stuff to Mapie, and possibly stay long enough to hug her awhile.

Plan Seb's birthday party now that I know I'll be in town for it

Plan the going away party that everyone's been asking for

Answer the thousand forwarding-address emails that people have somehow made the effort to ask for.

And a hundred other little things.

Today, though, today I'm still in my pyjamas at four in the afternoon, my closet is only half-emptied, and I'm having a little trouble getting motivated.

That'll change tomorrow, but aside from virtual cuddles from Mr. Pyke which always make me smile, today I'm going to wallow in this funk for a little bit.

I think I've got the time for it.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19