"Boulet"
2002-07-17

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


My first immense OH MY GODS I CAN'T BELIEVE I JUST DID THAT I'M GETTING FIRED FOR SURE blunder was last century, late '98-ish.

That time I turned off a sattelite by mistake and was convinced I'd made it impossible to boot.

Walter fixed it in fifteen minutes, laughing his fool head off at the panic in my young Y2K testing eyes that I'd fucked up a toy worth some number with the word billion in it.

Today, I learned that the word "blunder" in french is colloquially "BOULET" as Andre-Marc hit the ground roaring with laughter and Jaouad and I looked at each other with tears in our eyes.

Today I learned that libc is required for every single shell command to execute and that when you do a "mv" of it rather than a "cp" because you've done so many mv's and cp's that you're getting them confused,

that suddenly you can't "cp" or "mv" it back, or even do an "ls"...

I've run out of steam in the telling, but of course the problem is repairable, and we did figure that eventually when we'd calmed down, and it DID teach us something about the weird system error we were getting.

And granted, we're going to lose a lot of time waiting for the sysadmin to get into work in the morning, but

it ain't the end of the world,

and I learned a new word.

"Boulet"

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19