flapping nerve endings
2002-06-03

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


This is just so cool. I miss my geek gear.

Last night was... Utterly bizarre.

When the door buzzed around 20h, I was dizzy from the computer screen. I'd forgotten where I was, who'd been here, that people might be showing up let alone sleeping here.

The door buzzed, and by the time I got to it they were upstairs already, Annik and Caro but also Seb and Guillaume, everyone looking rather stressed and uncomfortable and my zombie muscleless face probably not helping much.

Bises hello, "how was the parc?" "long."

Oh. Apparently Caro was NOT enjoying Guillaume's advances any more than I do. She's just so good natured about it...

Somehow they ended up in my living room, me back at the machine, searching for politely caring questions to ask until they figured out where in hell they were going.

Seb had errands to run. It took him an hour to leave on them, but he did. Guillaume took the metro home, without argument, his face stone-cold. I think he got the idea too, especially from the subzero silence when Seb, in his slightly-irritating-sometimes exuberance asked "so all three of you ended up in bed, eh..."

sigh

The guys gone, Annik curled up about a slice of pizza on the extra mattress, and the stories came out.

Caro and how swiftly she'd seen through GUillaume's false chivalry. Annik and Seb's stupidity at the way he's stringing two girls along, and his nerve in explaining to her, "you wouldn't understand, you're leaving in two weeks and I don't want to be alone."

Irritated, we were all so irritated, three girls sitting with their arms about their knees just letting loose.

I don't plan on doing it often, but it felt good. We all needed it.

Seb came back for Annik, she's sleeping here tonight, though, and Caro and I crawled into bed and kept on talking.

Penis sizes (boy oh BOY do we disagree on that point), the correlation between how a guy dances and how he's going to be in bed, how to politely tell a guy it's not going to happen without bruising any egos or making any enemies.

She's so good at it. "Look, ca pourrait pas marcher entre nous, j'ai pas le feeling..." And while her criteria are wildly different from mine (like penis size), she reminded me of a lot of "management" skills that I used to be a lot better at way back when I was in an agressive dating scene.

"You don't need to tell him that he t'enerve. You don't need to tell him to fuck off. It's okay if you tell him you enjoy his friendship, it's not lying EXACTLY..."

Ugh. I hate this stuff. But we took mental notes, at two in the morning, the lights out and our voices mapping out a presentation like it was for a boardroom meeting.

saturday's going to be busy, singing lesson and family dinner, but Sunday somehow I'm not sure I'm going to escape the gang, only this time I've got the cue-cards tidily written up on the back of my brain.

This feels so stupid. Angsty, almost. Yuck. Feh. But I've got a meeting in an hour and my linen blouse needs ironing.

Tonight, Liz is in Annecy and can't make it to Paris, I think I'm going to sneak off someplace.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19