ghosts in the paris underground
2001-08-31

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I saw ghosts in the metro this morning.

Eyelids straining against a week of late nights and 6am wake-ups, my eyelashes changed a man in careful tweed into the sage of the Arthurian hills.

Blink, and he was a man with a carbon-copy briefcase again, mais je l'ai vu, I saw something scaly breathe fire behind his eyes.

The girl with too-thin arms, sitting with fingers caressing a cigarette and her blouse cut so low that suddenly I knew what emaciation meant, she turned her head just so and I saw the blush that would have appeared along her neck had she been a well-fed maiden carrying feed to tend horses,had she remembered a word of who she was before the television told her so.

Ghosts of alleycats and silk-clad minstrels prowled about the seats, hanging from the windows, their sleeves flapping as we sped north through Paris.

Eyes wide, I saw each separate swath of ghostly silk, and through them the unseeing eyes of the passengers.

At the end of the line, I was alone with the ghosts, and a carbon-copy briefcase of my own, brimming with unread documentation.

There was no paladdin in sight.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19