mimosa
2001-03-28

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I walk in utopian gardens in the summer dusk
The wind is painted with lavender and leaning jasmine flowers
And the musk of mimosas, so fresh in my memory

...Is from a bottle of cheap perfume, tinted a pale, petulant green
That I'd bought one cold fall afternoon
Excited by the affluent promise of a steady paycheck

I have never seen a mimosa, never tasted its natural aroma
Rife and alive in a nose experienced, travelled, aware and appreciative

But I dream of them, dream of an image conjured of wistfullness
Are they a flower, a herb, are they green or white or the impossible purple
Of the poisoned petals from a once favourite fiction story

I want to see one, before I turn it artificial from dictionary photographs.

I walk in utopian gardens painted into my conscience by the neglected summer dusks
Of steaming instant coffee cups and paper cuts and the insistent yell
Of fabricated lines of code

I walk in utopian gardens teeming with silky-petalled rainbows
That in my dreams I promise myself I will one day see
And plant and seed and sow
And care for with the tender love of a woman at peace with herself
At peace with the world and the pain and the tears of pubescent youths
That will never see a desk, and have the opportunity loathe it.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19