mundanity and self-mockery
2000-10-25

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I woke late. I left early. I grabbed a salad from the grocery store and worked through lunch. I finished one project quite dissatisfactorily (and got halfway through the design for another). The student is testing my mess, so I'll have a handful of coherent things to fix soon enough. Well, hopefully.

Problem is, I want to release the source code, and my CVS is so messed up I can't figure out how to package it.

Johnny dragged our asses out for the remastering of "Drunken Master II" last night, and it rekindled my awe of Jackie Chan. After the horror that was the viewing of "Nice Guy", that was a tough task indeed.

But the movie is heroic, and, not wanting to get stuck alone with Genevieve I invited a handful of the nearest people. I think Peter and I bonded over the flick, what a frightening thought.

Of course, Paul and Riz were more than willing and eager to come along. Afterwards, we drained fancy coffees in cf's ex-favourite little cafe and pushed plates of cheesecake back and forth between us, and attempted to comfort Paul in his misery at not being able to be Martial Arts Master any more.

Of course, monstres get overly enthusiastic when faced with solving interesting problems.

Consequently, despite being dubbed "too hyper" by certain individuals, and despite the threats that to go into training I'd not only have to cut out alcohol (no biggie), smokes (ARGH) and COFFEEEEEEE (at least I'll have the skill to kill someone when I get a lack-of-caffeine headache), I poked and prodded and Sunday is tentatively the beginning of a new regime.

It's a last chance for a lot of things, a last chance to communicate with Paul (this awkwardness of his, his timidness is becoming boring), a last chance to get off my ass and get past orange belt in Judo and Karate.

I never used to be a quitter, so hopefully... Hopefully I'll have the strength to finish this project, so many years later.


And now, thanks to our darling and charming and eyelash-fluttering Marquis who I should have been linking to long ago...

A few of the aforepromised pics. ( And NOOOOO LAUGHING! These are all over the company intranet as it is... And yes, I am that red in the face, because I am THAT drunk. ;)The rest will come soon as I hook up the scanner with the CD rack sitting on top of it.


Dan and I gallivanting about, embarassing people.


Dan, I'm-so-buff Steve and I tormenting the administrator guy of Gemplus. Poor man...


The greek kids and me and Dan.


Our stunning array of blonde administrative assistants. Go on, be jealous.


The mandatory tuff-guy threatening me with a camera look. You don't *want* to see what happenned immediately afterwards.


Something a little more indicative of what I ought to look like. Except I never make the effort anymore. The charming fellow in the back is Ordeneus, who was in town for a weekend of terrible debauchery. No really, it was. Terrible, terrible. Pronounced in french, even.


My first hallowe'en a handful of years ago, in the guy-who-doesn't-want-to-be-mentioned-anymore's house. It's hallowe'en this weekend. So I'm trying to top this outfit. Pictures at 11. ;)


Me an' my little sister, on her 10th birthday. That would make me 14... When I thought I was way bad-ass. Yes, that is a pentagram around my neck. Yes, it is right-side-up.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19