the american peril
2000-08-08

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


This just has me thrumming with ARGHHHH.

We were finally making some headway, some idealistic progress, and not only do I discover this morning that my remnants-of-science-fiction-novel-values are adolescent, but I also lost the will to really argue the point, too.

Why?

Because no matter how hard we try to change something, someone is going to ruin it, not necessarily intentionally or anything but because... Because we're not supposed to always agree.

But the snobbism inherent in that article hurt. Really, really, hurt. And I can understand why he's bitter, and she's bitter, but I'm still going to believe, because we've come so far. And because for once, "I can dance in this revolution." And because for once, it's important enough for me to want to pick a side.

But.

But.

But last night when Rob told me about his plans to pick up and move to the utopia that is Sillicon valley, all the talk of "He's got the money all mapped out" (and boy am I getting tired of hearing about money) "and the plans and goals and cyberventures" was somehow dissatisfying.

"No I'm not coming with you."

"Why not?!?"

"Because Sillicon valley is not a utopia for me. Too big, too shiny, the freedoms and staggering beauties of it aren't worth those prices, to me - and if I'm going to leave the breathtaking step-up-to-utopia of Montreal with it's pagan communities and happily functioning polyamourous lifestyles, I'll be heading away from America, not into the thick of it."

I'm sorry, Rob. I really am...

But right now I've got a new API to learn, and a handful of psychos from work to organize for Foufs, and motorcycle lessons tonight, and skydiving this weekend, and frankly...

There's no space in my thoughts for the "White Peril" right now. ;)

How horribly selfish.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19