road trip
2000-11-14

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Back on the highway again.

The Highway of Synchronicity.

The only truly brilliant thing I can remember John Constantine ever coming up with. The rest was just clever, insightful at times.

Foot to the floor, the headlights of my vacuum go on and amidst the horrific rumble of the sucking beast, I hear the horns of every car on this highway singing in unison.

My demo works, but not just that. It's not a demo anymore, it works. Really works. No last-minute hacks, no things remaining to be polished before publishing, no faking it (like we thought we were going to have to do on Friday), just public keys being gracefully handed back and forth across the board and an SSL connection that you can only authenticate to with a 4k smartcard.

And as things began to fall into place, e-mails that I've missed from a Steven as busy as I, conversations with stressed out coworkers suddenly turning fascinating again

The head crypto honcho from the Marseilles office turns out to have grown up in Israel and spoke to me in Hebrew when he heard my name and I answered him without thinking, I guess I'll get a chance to talk to him after all

And all this while, among the preparations for another annual monstre-bash (a year short of the quarter-century mark, I think I'm finally ready for it, and you're all welcome to come help celebrate if you can manage being in the area -- it ought to be somewhat interesting judging by last year...), listing out the remainder of the sushi ingredients in my freezer and what I'll need to replenish, checking out my alcohol and drug supply, getting e-mails from people I had the audacity to doubt last week, phone calls from close friends I miss too much suddenly on their way over for hugs and joints...

All is well. All is better than that.

It's flowing, and I'm skipping in and out of the tide like an old pro, well-worn, naked heels kicking up the sand.

Tho I may be having a doubt or two about that "XP - Extreme Programming" thing that Philippe thinks I "should find interesting". If it involves a parachute, I'm in, but from the looks of it...

...it may be just a touch out of my league.

For now. But it's always been just the way I look at it, hasn't it?

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19