back assward compliments
2000-02-04

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Compliments are strange animals, the kind where the fur feels real nice if you run your fingers through it one way, and tries to chew your fingers into little bloody stumps if you brush it the other way.

I'm not necessarily referring to men's inability to answer questions like "does this make me look fat?", as far as I'm concerned, you're asking for it... How hard is it to see yourself objectively?

It's an important part of perception anyway.

No, I mean... Getting and giving compliments. I *like* giving compliments. I'm a flake. I like telling mistress Bootsy about her beautiful eyes and the way her smile lights up even the stinkiest most dung-filled corridors. ;)

I like telling amazing people how amazing they are.

But I'm wondering (the whole perceiving yourself objectively thing) if my compliments can make someone uncomfortable?

For some reason people have been paying attention to the way I smell this week. A new friend mentioned the distinct Monstre smell when I walk by, and how it's nice. I was really flattered, and the quiet rush was an awesome upswing to my mood for a while.

Then my friend's girlfriend ran into me in the street. She sniffed at the air, and jumped into the intersection with an "Is that YOU" and as my heart is stopping cuz I'm terrified that I smell offensive already at this hour of the morning...

She squeals a "YES!" and has been dropping by and calling ever since, just to bury her face in my neck...

Whilst I love the attention, it's making me uncomfortable... Especially from a girl I didn't really connect with that much in the first place.

Then last night some guy insists on calline me cutie and I've about had it... (I'll explain my problem with the word anon, anon)

I'm sending out a plea. Can anyone hear me?

What works what doesn't what's the story?!?!?

Is it the wording, how close you stand, how sincere you are? I know it's not just sincerity, but is the only other factor how attracted you are to the person complimenting you?

I don't think so...

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19