spring has sprung!
2000-02-24

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I can smell the dogshit in the air and my heart is pounding with it.

Okay, so maybe that's not a romantic image to *you*, but... Despite my love of winter sports, springtime means so many crazy things to me right now.

It means change. Always. When you stop changing is when you die.

When you stop wanting to change, is when you *should* die.

It also means - THE END OF SCHOOL!!!!

It's been way too fucking long for someone with an attitude as bad as mine. I.HATE.SCHOOL. And this summer, maybe I can spend my evenings on projects that mean something to me.

Like a martial art. I want to go to a gym for the first time since lifeguarding - I can barely make it up my stairs without gasping and wondering if I've turned into a beached tuna somewhere along the way.

Maybe I can catch up on the programming I've been meaning to do.

Hey, think we'll have time to change the world this summer? Well, at least we can get started on it.

Oh, and I want to go to india.

I've been talking about it since November.

I wanna go I wanna go...

So, *ahem*, here is the possible problem, but we're working on it.

Remember how I said I WANT TO GET OUT OF HERE?!?! Well, there's 8 of us here.

Take away the two fuckups runnings this place, that leaves six of us.

Funny, I helped polish six CVs this week...

We're all jumping ship.

I'm very excited for us.

HOWEVER, if'n I start a new job before May... Uhmm... What does that do to my vacation time?

Normally I wouldn't mind. I'm used to it. I haven't taken time off since grade nine...

But I *really* want to go to India. And Burning Man. And...

*siigh* I want to take a week off and rent a tv and vcr and catch up on some of the movies I've missed this year. IIIIIII... Want to catch up on hugs. And everquest. And wednesday nights at foufounnes. And concerts. And beer. And...

Well, sex might be nice, but I'm still half-glad I won't have too much time for that for awhiles yet. ;)

'nyhow, for the terminally curious, the Softimage interview this morning was strange. In *so* many ways. From losing a contact lens right before the interview and having to cab it there or I'd be late, to the fact that I'd *totally* misunderstood what the position was. They're looking for a sysadmin...

...funny I was just talking about that last night with one of the boys in the computer lab at school. Being a sysadmin can really suck - but at Softimage they have Quake tournaments.

'nyhow, the highlight of the interview ranged from "You're a girl?!?" to - do you play RPG's (this in french, so I wasn't sure I understood him correctly)? Half the questions were "so if you were running Sendmail 8.8 and you wanted to track an e-mail blahblahblah..." to "if you wanted to enable file sharing..." to "so do you play many computer games? Really which ones? Terran or Protos or Zerg? Do you like Star Trek?"

We giggled for about an hour then I went to work.

On verra. *shrug*

Then I got a phone call from 3-soft. Turns out the guy I was speaking with used to hang out on the same BBS as I did. He used to SysOp one... I apologized profusely for having caused so much trouble.

Montreal is so fucking *small*. :)

In any case, I actually ought to do some work today. But I'll be at Hurley's tonight raising a glass of the guiness that I dreamed about last night.

I love you guys, and I'll be raising many a glass to you, tonight. :)

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19