I hate work-relates stress, someone explain this to me.
2002-07-23

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


It's just past noon so it may be my stomach but I can feel the stress bubbling in my belly again.

HR lady at my parent company wants to "talk to me" about my career and refuses to let me reserve my vacation days until we do.

In a couple of weeks I'll have been here for a year, strangely enough on the very day of Mr. Pyke's birthday.

She's very insistent that she absolutely has to see me, and since she's rather odd and has a tendency to take on airs of importance anyway, I have no idea what this is for.

Is it the yearly review? Is this about raises and offers? Is this about the fact that they have no idea what to do with a security person so rather than try so hard to find me useful contracts they're giving up before the salary review?

I've never been fired before. Is that what this is leading up to?

I'm not good at dealing with failure. So far I'm managing to focus on my C mess simply because I'm telling myself "well, the worst case scenario is that I get on that plane one-way instead of two..."

This washes away the panic but my belly is still burbling.

I think I'll just go play with my makefile...

*sigh*

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19