couples night
2001-05-30

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Oh, I'm late for work but I've got my first three hours mapped out already so I'm not worrying...

It's cold outside and it's cold in here and my blood is thrumming with it and I'm trying to swallow last night.

Wandering home to write a song for the first competition in the first annual GemAthlon, my team is so cute, all wearing red shirts yesterday like I'd asked them to... I have to find shirts and print them with our team name "Hwoop-(as)'" and I have to finish the song that goes to the tune of Gilligan's island which both Benoit and David seem to be perfectly able to play on guitar...

David's band practice cancelled last night, a little excited that we had the night together, my plans put off until tonight we wandered home and ordered pizza and there was a movie lying on the coffee table "Basketball" and I would'n't've enjoyed it one bit except that the boy knows just about everything about the history of baseball and served as an excellent narrator.

I was much impressed, despite so little interest in a sport that has entered my life only twice -- once in "Field of Dreams" that I hazily remember from my childhood and once when I traipsed along with a bunch of classmates to a game at the stadium, my leg swollen from infection that would later leave a huge, grinning scar and me in a coma in the hospital for a week.

That was the night that Nattan told me he thought I was smart.

I haven't looked back since...

John's girlfriend showed up fifteen minutes into us curled up on the couch with a sleeping bag keeping our legs and bellies warm, John joined us shortly after and they ate indian food, we gulped down pizza with shrimp on it and giggled at the movie together, then Genny offered to help us with our song and we spent the next four hours listening to old tv show theme songs...

First time I've ever engaged in a "couples" activity. I'm still trying to swallow that one.

John and I staring in some strange sort of awe at our lovers and how they remember every song and sang them so perfectly in key...

They sang, we watched, made suggestions, I wrote about our team members, Peter the late night coding boy and Gila the linux queen, Viet the fighting superstar and Benoit who knows all the drinking songs and Tia who can get things done and David who is going slowly insane working on a team composed and managed entirely by women.

I ran out of steam when it came to Sebastien, I'll finish it tonight in between t-shirt printing and a trip to McKibbins to see our Everquest lady again...

My leg hurts where John landed an impressive punch in the center of my quadricep, and my ankle is still throbbing from when I slipped in the mud on Monday afternoon, but the trip to the gym is cancelled this lunchtime for a visit to Tanya who is testing out the telecommuting that they plan to implement for us if the testing works out.

Alright. I'm ready for my shower now. It'll be warm in there...

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19