adventures willing
2001-12-05

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Vague embers still coalescing in the ends of my fingers at yesterday's reminder that in the simple act of reaching out to someone and letting them know the smallest thing

there is immeasurable warmth.

Empathy has always seemed the most cost-efficient thing about the nature of humanity.

Des fois je me demande pourquoi nobody ever reaches out anymore. When did it become so expensive to smile at the clerk in the corner store?

Eric's immaculately barren desk, throwing rainy day reflections from the suddenly visible window no longer obscured by his carotted head, is a tribute to the bemused smile that lit up his all-too-serious freckles yesterday afternoon with all-too-seldom-seen ardour.

And yet busywork rumbles ever onwards, stringing together buzzword bullshit to play the old FUD game (Fear Uncertainty and Doubt, the age-old and hopelessly everpresent technique) for extravagant stakes.

Tonight, an excercise in american Cin�ma, avoiding Hairy Pothead like the teaching-kids-they-don't-need-novels pariah it feels to be and opting instead for a Hollywood rendition of the Lynchian BrainFuck (Mulholland thingie).

I argued with someone once, who pointed out that not all american movies are hollywood bilge.

David Lynch has always struck me as the only bonus I've so far seen to the utter departure from rationale all too evident in an overcrowded, desensitized, terrified-into-numb-idiocy society. Rather than going numb, he's found new ways to stimulate that painfully underused organ.

He reminds me of anim�. In order to produce brilliance, there must have been suffering to egg it on, right?

Maybe I'm just addicted to occasional lethal doses of counterculture.

Tomorrow, a departure from the confines of the high-backed spacechair, and an exploration into just how far further they've come out here in terms of minding my business.

The conference started early this morning, but my invoice of attentions payable has gone into such hopeless overdraft

that I'd forgotten about it until this afternoon.

Not too much harm done though, since the most interesting talk is at 17h30 tomorrow.

It'll be nice to wander La D�fense again, I wish I could remember why I had felt an urgency to return there.

Internet communication will resume Friday, adventures willing.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19