i swear it's not the coffee
2000-05-24

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I swear it's not the coffee.
I swear it's not the coffee.I swear it's not the coffee.
I swear it's not the coffee.
I swear it's not the coffee.
I swear it's not the coffee.
I swear it's not the coffee.
I swear it's not the coffee.

Ahem.

I've never come up against a barrier when spewing the end-all be-all of utter bigle here.

No threats of violence or denunciation particularly phaze me, no sorrowful discoveries of something in which I dream or believe cutting ties with someone who has claimed to hold me dear - no fear, no fear.

And suddenly, I find myself biting down on the nuggets of one of the unimaginable events of yesterday and holding it to my breasts and preening and grinning over it and yet afraid to share it.

It's got to do with Normand and the clown stuff, but... I think I'll wait until AFTER Sunday's fund-raiser thingamabobber before I talk about it at length.

Because it's so terrifyingly new. And too good to be true and I'm afraid to whisper it aloud lest... I don't know. I've never been superstitious either.

Not the costuming, the role-playing, the fund-raising or even the act of clowning around...

But, uhm, well...

On verra. Whatever it is roiling inside me little head right now is too volatile to be set loose until Normand and I have at it with a book of personas, a box of make-up and his closet of buffoonery Saturday night.

I'm really really reallllllly excited. We discovered each other on ICQ yesterday and he proceeded to keep me in stitches with hastily scrawled antics at the same time flattering me overtly and - I fell straight for it.

Normally someone dares call me any compliment at all straight off and up shoot the eyebrows.

This time: "You have the heart of a clown, stop worrying - it will come easy to you. It you have it in you then it will find it's way out. And with you, it's worse. You're contagious."

I just caught my breath instead and was glad for the pokerface allowable via textual gabbing.

In the meantime, I have a thousand links to traverse, and a CD of information to have a go at (not at work of course, today we're still having at the smartcard atomic routines with a little bit of research into SSH thrown in...) and I have to pick a persona.

On verra. And I should be worrying but I can't. I haven't gotten over the glee yet!

_____________

Last night was reminiscnet of last summer. Both our plans cancelled (gaming switched to Monday nights) Johnny and I headed out into the neighbourhood for some good Jamaican food (Goat Roti and Jerk Chicken and rice-and-peas) and then for a guinness at the irish pub across the street...

No sooner had we planted our luxuriating arses down on the stools outside, but... The scourges of the neighbourhood sauntered by...

A couple of SCAdians off to play frisbee got suckered into punning 'round the table with us instead, then Bootsy and her new-to-be-roommate and and and...

Partiness ensued and we ended up renting (first official get together chez nous to watch videos, it was weiiiiiird but AWESOME) "Free Enterprise" which you ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO SEE IF you're any fan of SF especially comics and Star-Trek et al... But I'd stay away from it if the geek humour makes you want to retch.

It was, dazzling. Husterical. Took me a sec to adjust to the chair but was swiftly enthralled by inside joke after inside joke that are alllll too personal to me.

Anyway.

New guy joined our team, ten billion years experience as whotever, apparently he's the technical lead for Gem Utilities. The thing we're doing research and making suggestions for.

Fabrice makes my skin crawl and he's a close talker and has already subjected me to two interrogations today.

I really do have a problem with authority, don't I?

Thing is, Patrice and Phillippe feel the same way about him.

Patrice says that Gem utilities is the projects resulting from our work, and we're the research kids and Fabrice isn't our problem.

Peter says he'll be our problem until they hire more developper so we can concentrate solely on being uber-geeks.

I'm keeping my head down and devouring hardware specs, SSH specs (no one had heard of it and they're thrilled at the concept so now I gotta get experted), and trying to figure out how to program.

And hounding the guys downstairs for that laptop that I'm supopsed to turn into the ultimte demo environment.

Right.

I'll shut up now.

Just honk my nose if you need something. :)

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19