cornucopia of everythings
2000-04-11

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


It's been a strangely full day.

Waking up, I begged John to breakfast, a knot in my stomach reminding me of my impending resignation, and how difficult and devoid today should have been.

The resignation went well. I am a talented corporate whore. Whooopeee. I haven't made my final decision yet (though I will have to shortly) between Softimage and GemPlus, but something about the trendoid bullshit and the vaguely remembered dreams of who I wanted to be - made "sell-out" motions with febrile tendrils whenever I thought of Softimage. Hotels are not for me. I will travel, I will kiss this world, and I don't need a job to do it for me.

The day went well, surprisingly enough. Loren's relieved to be getting rid of us two troublemakers - Lou and I, and he's even more relieved that I'm not making waves. Why bother? (It's only going to make it harder on cf.) I spent the day looking like I was working on documentation, and polishing my final essay for english class.

Speaking of class. I went to pick up the correction of my revised edition of the third assignment from my Expert Systems teacher. She gave me marks for it. I really wasn't expecting that, and I would've gotten full marks, but we both agreed that 20% off is worth it being so damn late, and the other 20% was because I used salience for hierarchy of the inference rules. (Sorry Steven, she really didn't like the idea. But I got marks!)

Then on to english. I handed in my essay, apparently it's not due until tommorrow. Ms. Dimechele convinced me to stay for class, and running into Lucky and giggling me arse off gave me the energy to stick around.

Good thing, too.

She handed back the final exams. Mine says "Brava" onnit. The only non-english major in the class, and I got top marks... with a 91% (and that's just cuz I *still* think that Robinson Jeffers uses animals as metaphors for the rise and decline of human strength. She doesn't agree. Big deal.) Woohooo!

Then Tony, loudmouth who has apparently been in the other english class I took with me, points out a spelling mistake I made. I reversed two letters. I do it all the time now, ever since I stopped writing by hand and the keyboard became my natural tool.

Apparently I've developped dyslexia. heh. The boy couldn't remember the word for it, kept saying "bi-pedalism" or somesuch...

We start talking about geekness. Apparently he grew up on BBSes, too. Hmmm, 1990-1994, funny, that's right around when I was doin' it...

After talk of 300-baud modems with handsets and installing my first 1200-baud (boy was it FAST), we started discussing BBSes.

"I used to hang mostly on Red Dwarf cuz it had LORD" he said.

"I was the only chick on Red Dwarf around then" said I.

"Tekki?"

Not again... I vaguely remember "Storm". Heh. Hehehehehehe.

Lucky says I spend too much time online. WAY too much time online. For fuck's sake, I spend more than double my sleeping hours basking in the glow of various screens. I invaded four different computer labs in between classes and things at school today, let alone my work machines, and the baby I'm sitting at now.

He marvels at how rich my online-life is. He accused me of "having no life". Then we both fell to the snowbanks, heaving and laughing (he started it, no really, why doesn't anyone believe me? okay, okay, I pushed him first), and continued the trudge home. Bastard always makes me walk.

Funny, how despite how much fun I'm having with celibacy now (even though cf abandoned the cause), I still seem to have too much of a "life". My iguana is ignoring me, I'm never home to coddle her anymore.

I can't remember the last time I made my bed. Okay, I can, but that's just cuz the glorious high that I'm on, is bolstering my memory.

"Strange and beautiful, are the stars tonight..." (And they're vibrating, too)

And I'm living the thousand lives that I dreamed of as a child.

And tonight, I even cried. (a veritable cornucopia of emotions, I am filled to overwhelming capacity, tonight) Nearing the end of "Clan of the Cave Bear" (I did get some studying in for this week's final, I deserved the distraction), watching Iza die, I cried with the grief and anguish of Ayla and Creb and...

I get WAY too into books. But it only makes life richer.

And so do you.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19