Fiddler's Green
2000-12-23

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I woke up in a strange man's bed today, wrapped up in gracefully muscled arms, fuschia curls splayed ever so carefully across the crisp white of the pillow where his fingers had stoked them late into the night.

His beautiful mouth curled up at the corners as he crept out from under me, watching me all the way to the door.

And he returned, amidst clunking and crunching and the grating of a guitar case along the floor

to crouch beside me, pin me underneath blankets and pale yellow flannel sheets, whisper "you are amazing" and then begin to sing...

Ever so softly, with perfect pitch and timber...:

"September Seventeen

For a girl I know it's Mother's day

Her son has gone alee

And that's where he will stay

Wind on a weathervane

Tearing blue eyes sailor-mean

As Falstaff sings a sorrowful refrain

For a boy in Fiddler's Green

His tiny knotted heart

Well I guess it never worked too good

The timber tore apart

And the water gorged the wood

You can hear her whisper prayer

For men at masts that always lean

The same wind that moves her hair

Moves her boy through Fiddler's Green

He doesn't know a soul

And there's nowhere that he's really been

But he won't travel long, alo..o..one

No not in Fiddler's Green

Balloons all filled with rain

As children's eyes turn sleepy-mean

And Falstaff sings a sorrowful refrain

For a boy in Fiddler's Green "

and then moved softly through more Tragically Hip songs from his cover band, and then on to new songs, that I'd never heard before...

And my head is pounding from the utter lack of sleep from having his smell surround me, my legs are tired and I know he's in a car somewhere in Ontario with his two daughters, he's gone for the week...

But I can still hear him singing.

And I kissed him deep and long, in my lab last night after everyone had left the office for the holidays, egg nog still on our breath and hands hungrily everywhere...

And I kissed him just the same this morning, and pledged to see him next year.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19