hectic montreal
2004-06-16

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Don't let my husband fool you with his gruff grins and sharp sarcasm. I have a pool of text messages and voicemail that out him as The Most Romantic Soul in the world.

In other news, we returned from a hectic trip to Montreal and proceeded to race nonstop until this very minute.

This trip to Montreal was all about letting the family have at poor Dave (although I took the focus off him as much as I could) and racing around town returning retarded and unwanted wedding gifts. We ended up with a beautifully simple glass cloche-top cake plate, some graceful cutlery (set for 20) and some doodads and fancy sheets. I feel so materialistic going over the list, but I felt the need to document the last of the wedding tribualtions somewhere. Really, the important part isn't what we "got" -- but the time we spent driving around Montreal to get it, half the time with my mother in tow -- behaving so giddily mother-like, that for a while I indulged in the "I have a family" fantasy.

Montreal trips are difficult, always. Our schedules are so full that we never seem to manage to make it there for a long weekend, and then by the time we do, we wake up to find ourselves with just enough social time to have brunch on Sunday and then drive away -- and I've long since given up on the twenty-person brunches, they were so heart-rending to be surrounded by such glorious faces and have nary a chance to exchange a word with them.

This time we were six in total, Val and her boy and cf and Mystie at some tiny cafe in St-Henri and it was just lovely. There was something I'd been dying to say that day but couldn't -- but will make up for it soon enough.

Next time... who knows. Unfortunately one thing I've learned is that Montreal is filled with as many glorious hearts as Toronto, and Paris, and Lyon, and Hamburg, and Grenoble...

...but that my life only has room for most of them. The rest -- will have to come visit me here, or meet me on the campgrounds of Algonquin, or Kaleidoscope, or some other glorious place which steals us in mid-step.

In the meantime, I have to run AGAIN, and looking at my schedule please don't give up on me if I don't write often between now and mid-July. My excuses are brilliant but I WILL write more after then.

In the meantime, my laptop lived with me on the trip to Mtl, I was working on it by 6am on Saturday whilst The Most Romantic Husband Ever slept on, and it was a constant (four hour battery!) hum all the drive back -- so I'm only a few days behind my impossible deadlines.

And y'know what? I'm loving it.

______

3 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19