warm flannel shirt and I'm tragically hip
2000-12-06

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I am wearing a red thick wool cardigan with faded grey-blue and orange stripes about the elbows, cuffs folded six inches back, draped over a tight turtleneck and the swiftly-becoming habitual pale blue jeans with the frayed bottoms (because they were hand-me-arounds from some beloved friend with long male legs who's pot belly eventually outgrew his jeans).

Where oh where is the vynil now, my purple tall-as-reeds docboots are sobbing and I can hear them creak against the back shelf I've stored them on from here.

Oh, I am being ever so melodramatic but it is strange to look down at myself in a sweater I borrowed from a girl down the hall, and how horribly it clashes with the desperate pink in my hair.

And I'm having in-depth conversations about age-old goth tunes, the new cute guy from nowhereville turning out to be a big Siouxie fan, or The Mission...

Conversations about children and priorities and materialism and how none of it matters

none of it matters

but sometimes environment counts

and we're all desperately trying to find a balance between a comfortable home, something that feels classy and warm and beautiful, but that doesn't eat out of childrens' hands.

And so many of us are losing thebattle, and so many of us are losing the battle to the appearance of comfort, and then there's the handful of misfits

like us

that are winning some small battle but losing this great war of fitting in.

Because everybody's balance is just so painfully different.

But I'm getting closer to where I want to be, and with each step everyone else's reality is all the less threatening.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19