job hunt
2001-06-19

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Unemployment is so tiring.

I've pushed myself into the shower a good two hours earlier than usual every day since Thursday.

Granted, one of those days was to help John out in the store, and make phone calls to the bank, to my RRSP company, taking care of mundanities. One of those days was spent helping a friend move. Two of those days was spent with children, then staying up late with their dad talking about how much easier it is to get attached when there's kids involved... Easier for him because he's got someone who adores his kids as much as they adore me, easier for me because it adds something to my life that I otherwise wasn't expecting to have.

Today, I was out and about by seven, my back molding itself to a conference room chair, trying to look like I was paying attention to the "career transition seminar" that Gemplus was kind enough to pay for.

I learned two, maybe three things in those nine hours. Resumes are supposed to have summaries now. Whoopdeedoo.

But hey, I got free pizza, and missed a handful of interview-related phone calls.

I just spent the last two hours reworking my resume. The boys are heading out tonight, I'm dying to see them, but I don't have the energy to head out in the steamy heat and catch bits of the fringe festival.

I know I'd enjoy it, but my priority right now is getting a little further in the job hunt. In ten years, I know which one will make more of a difference.

I'm going camping this weekend, I still need to buy a few ammenities.

I haven't applied for unemployment yet, but I know that I probably should.

I haven't had time to go cycling, or to the pool.

I'm not stressed, though. Just a little tired...

But it's the right kind of tired. The running-around-getting-things-done-crossing-off-my-list tired.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19