laughable lay-offs
2001-06-12

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


I've never seen panic break out inside a building before, but I must admit it is a most entertaining event.

The Administrative president (as opposed to my boss, the CTO) announced this afternoon that there is an emergency meeting at 9:30 in the morning tomorrow concerning lay-offs of the majority of the Montreal office of the company.

Apparently bunches of offices around the world are closing, apparently going public wasn't all that great an idea, and in order for their income to be greater than their expenses, they have to stop paying people.

I'm going to the Linux World Expo tomorrow anyway. I'll leave my cell phone on vibrate, but frankly I'm not worried.

'bout time some major upheaval happened in my life, and frankly, all this talk of Master's degrees had me wondering if I wanted to keep my job anyway, or do something less time-consuming and concentrate on being a geek again.

Seein' as I work on a research team, and by definition research doesn't bring in any direct income (only indirect, as half my projects from last year have been implemented and are out making money) I can see major cuts happening there, even though our team appears in all the restructuring diagrams.

Peter is panicking, half the team is depressed, my boss is bemused that I am more concerned with having photos of the looks on peoples' faces when they find out that they're going to be looking for new jobs tomorrow.

But they promised us a severance package and headhunters and job placement aid, so why worry?

Nah, I'm off to play with my sewing machine, read some more off Steven's Unabridged Reading List, and pack my stuff for the conference.

I'm planning to wear my linux tie. Too geeky? Nawww...

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19