roller-disco
2002-01-27

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Ahhh, the aches and pains.

No, not OH or OW but ahh..

The marathon rained out so off we trundlded to La Maine Jaune, the roller-discoth�que instead.

Granted, techno-ized seventies music gets a bit blearying on the brain after a while, but for a hardy four hours or so I was concentrating on other things.

I can turn now. Fast, sharp, leaning hard. I can do cross-cuts like I did onceuponatime on well-edged figure skates. Better with my right than my left but the progress shows in the number of wildly skittering children that I DIDN'T run over.

I can brake without the fucking rubber brake thing. An attempt at a marathon without it someday when it finally stops raining (it can't rain all the time), and that's it, the brake's coming off.

I need the mobility.

And Loic has a beautiful pair of freestyle blades, short axis, more flexibility, gosh... I like to tell myself this isn't materialism, it's equipment geared to excel.

I tell myself that about machines, too.

In the meantime, lessons learned about skating backwards.

It's just like on skates. And the rollerblading arena, is even more slick.

So whilst showing off and being chased by Stephanie whilst skating backwards...

Well...

THe arena is also a lot fucking harder than regular concrete.

There is no skin on my elbow.

There IS skin on my knee, but it's stretched to larger than usual.

Icing it now, (really frozen-spinaching) cuz tomorrow night is freestyle night at St-Ouen, and apparently there's enough flat space to show Anna Maria a few basic techniques.

Looks like I'm on to the intermediate ones now...

My goodness. And my ass? It's got clefts now. I can feel them. If I clench, I rise higher than I ever have from my seat.

There is surprising pride in this. Not as much as my first working C code, nor as much as my first Irix drivers, but...

More than a pseudo-intellectual irate little girl in me would have imagined.

Chinese take-out chez moi afterwards, we missed the flick night with Crystale, somehow word of my combobulations with contracts already made it around though and she made sure I knew that I was loved and they didn't want me to leave.

Such warmth, hugs beside the pinball machine when my tired legs from dancing to their three 80s songs led me there, quiet talks and more love directed at the boy who was instantly adored by all and who's reputation as A REALLY GREAT GUY has gotten around...

Sunday has been filled with energy.

And I have half the drivers that I need to compile into my Debian kernel.

I can't ask for more than this.

Maybe his arms...

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19