idleness
2002-01-27

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Slept the afternoon away, wondering where the sudden inability to conjure up energy spurts curled away and hid itself.

Friday evenings are my habitual quiet time, when I permit my brain to stretch off in the eaves of constant wakefulness, and loose the twinges from my muscles.

It has been this way for some time, and the implication of such a routine does not worry me often.

But when Friday nights become filled with people, or even a generous friend hopping over with a machine, linux CDs, and the motivation to geek...

We didn't even pass out that early, disappointed in the corruption of the token floppy disk that I had intended to use for booting and magic partitioning, and in my consequent inability to conjure up any modicum of lucidity at all, a postponment to morning became the best idea.

In the morning, italian coffeepot spouting geek-enhancing magic, no new solutions cropped up although at least the juices were flowing and ideas pinballed against white walls.

Several hours of waiting for various files to be read from a bravely chugging CD-rom and I was left with an empty afternoon to read up about advice to get Wanadoo's ADSL working with linux.

I'll just take a little nap first, I tell myself, rubbing the cold from my hands and priding myself in so smooth a jump to functionality.

Hours later, I have missed my appointment with Anna Maria, missed the musical outing with the new lovebirds that I had cancelled for Anna Maria's birthday, missed the dinner invites and apparently a healthy handful of phone calls.

Now it is late and tomorrow filled with plans, and I am escaping the criticism of having lost a precious day to situps and stretches and the token Leonard Cohen novel that anyone who has wandered and loved the cobbles of Montreal must one day read.

Idleness breeds so many terrible things, so it ends here in these waning moments of today.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19