upheaval
2002-01-25

Current

Archived

In Profile
Notes
Volumes
Host

The LiveJournal

__________
Places I spend too much time:
Slashdot
FreshMEAT
Kegboy's mages.
Delta
Penny Arcade
RedMEAT

_________


To get email when I finally get around to
updating:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Alright, I need to get this out in two-dimensional format and get it all ironed out in my head before I can be as happy about these changes that I've been begging for as I should be.

So, I found out from a coworker who heard it from a coworker who heard it from Eric that my contract here ends next week.

Apparently that's the way it was signed by MY company, only the people here in charge of my projects (there aren't any) haven't put a thought into "hey maybe monstre should stop planning for meetings and implementations and timelines that stretch into february if next week is the last. Maybe she should start thinking about handing her several gigabytes of designs, e-mail archives, tests and notes and policies over to Nicolas"

But nooo... I hear it from poor Nicolas who is suddenly panicked that next week I'll just be gone *poof* and he'll be left with a filing cabinet and several bursting directories.

I'm going to do my damndest to transfer over all my contacts, notes, projects, documentation, but damn... Is he going to hit a wall nasty hard the monday after when the phone starts ringing for this policy or that policy and he's up to his elbows in this communiqu� or that one.

Nyah nyah.

Pardonnez-moi, that was unproffessional and I will do my damndest to organize everything to make it as seamless as possible, while at the same time following Pascal's advice to made just enough noise for them to notice and miss my presnece.

Ahhh, politicking.

So this leaves me in the following situation:

1. In the position to begin interviewing for other consulting contracts. As I have heard nothing on the subject I wonder if this is merely a lack of communication or a lack of opportunities.

In this case, I have little to plan for. Take advantage of the soldes to put together a couple of very-corporate outfits and study hard for interviews as I've always been excellent at. Rework my CV at their end, which is a hateful task but a necessary one and I'm not complaining.

I will also, just in case, ask Alex to make some noise at his consulting box to see if they need a unix-bent coding security geek. I hear those are very popular here.

For that, I will need MS-Word to rework my personal CV as well. Am on it.

2. Now, the risky and worrisome thing is: I've been hearing a lot about fuckups in SSII's lately, and I have to admit that this non-communicative mess has left me worried.

Consequently, I'd like to plan for the worst.

The worst being, no more paycheck after this one (do they pay in-between contracts anyway??), and possibly no more Visa.

In that case, that's me being sent home.

In that case I will need:

To work out cancelling my rent, internet access, phone and electricity bill.

I will also need:

To work out how to pay off the remainder of my loan with my bank.

Then, on the Canada side, I need a place to stay, a car, a way to ship over all my stuff (fortunately not too much) and a jobhunt right quick.

Fortunately the CV part of the jobhunt should be done anyway.

Right.

That doesn't sound like all that much after all when it comes down to it. Except, of course, the money part, but I'll work that out when I've got better sights.

Good. I'm grounded. I'm stressed from the slight shock, but I know this ain't nothin' major. Big, stressful, complicated and time-consuming, but not major.

I had a great time out here, learned a ton of stuff, made too many friends that I will miss too much, and granted, I'd still LOVE to ski Mont Blanc like we'd planned to in March, I still want to take advantage of martial arts classes in a country specialized in that sort of thing, and I'm kicking myself for not having been able to make time for those singing lessons.

Now, during a period of major upheaval, it will be unlikely that I get around to those lessons, but I have to learn to get used to not doing a million things at once like when I was in school. For some reason extra-curricular activities were much easier to integrate then. Now, it will simply take more time to learn these skills and I will have to choose them more carefully, but my lack of amphetamine living is not a bad thing.

Not a bad thing.

Not a bad thing.

Ass-biting it is, to lose a few additional months of learning whilst I fight to adapt to a new situation, but my rollerblading might still improve, maybe my bridge techniques as well, and I begged for this change.

And now I will throw myself full-tilt into it.

______

0 comments on this spew so far

backup ..random chance.. rollover

______

Last few Rants:

I guess this is goodbye. - 11:57 a.m. , 2005-02-10
Endorphins, stress, and magickal mystery - 5:07 p.m. , 2005-02-02
stress, incoming - 4:42 p.m. , 2005-01-28
heaving great happy sighs - 3:05 p.m. , 2005-01-24
Imposter syndrome strikes again - 1:20 p.m. , 2005-01-19